The Glenmore Hotel
Eat & Drink

The Glenmore Hotel

96 Cumberland Street
The Rocks
Opening Hours
12pm - late daily
Map, showing The Glenmore Hotel

A popular watering hole with stunning 180-degree harbour views.

Originally built on the other side of Cumberland Street in the 1840s, this Aussie icon was reconstructed by Tooth Co. in 1921 to clear the path for the Sydney Harbour Bridge. 

Time has moved on, but the traditional charm and character has stayed. It’s just one reason why The Glenmore has remained hugely popular in Sydney for over a century. Make sure you visit the rooftop beer garden to take in the stunning 180-degree views of the harbour and enjoy a drink and a bite with friends.

96 Cumberland Street, The Rocks, NSW, 2000

The first Glenmore Hotel, known more correctly as the Glenmore Cottage, had been established around 1837.

It was located in Cumberland Street, less than 50m from the current hotel. For 80 years it served the public, offering dances and entertainment on three nights of the week in the 1860s, and hosting coronial inquests (as did many Rocks pubs) when locals died under unusual circumstances. When elections were held for Sydney Council or the NSW Legislative Assembly candidates (sometimes Rocks businessmen like Patrick Freehill) often met their local voters here in public meetings. Plans for the construction of the Sydney Harbour Bridge eventually to lead to the demolition of 280 buildings between Cumberland and Upper Fort Streets, including the former Glenmore Cottage. The new Glenmore was built on its present site in 1921. Largely serving the waterside workers and visitors to Sydney it was equipped with spacious bars and acommodation upstairs.