A unique vintage whiskey bar with delicious contemporary offerings.Based in a heritage underground venue in the heart of The Rocks is the old-world whisky bar, The Doss House.
The original sandstone walls bring warmth to the unique basement interior which features a beautiful terrace area rarely seen in precinct. With the stylish vintage surrounds, it’s easy to feel transported back to another time.
The Doss House carries an extensive collection of over 150 whiskies, as well as gins, vodka and fine wines. Guinness is on draught along with a couple of Australian taps, and if you’re peckish you can order meats and cheeses, dished out of an exquisite charcuterie counter.
What's on at The Doss House
Unwin's Stores - 77-79 George Street, The Rocks
Numbers 77-79 George Street were owned by Dr Frederick Mackellar who had consulting rooms downstairs and lived upstairs in the 1840s-50s. The Unwins stores themselves had a number of uses; they were built the 1840’s mainly as commercial properties. A whole host of occupants over the years included a boarding house for newly arrived Chinese immigrants, watchmakers, jewelers and opticians. Some of the buildings also served as pubs with a number of different names including The Steam Packet, The Brecknock Arms and The Liverpool Arms. The building in which the Doss House is found started out as the American Hotel from 1846-58, operated by ex-conict Abraham Levy (1792-1858). Levy was born in London where in 1811 he was convicted of stealing a wallet amid a crowd gathered to watch an early hot-air balloon ascent at Hackney. Levy was sentenced to transportation for life to New South Wales and arrived in 1813 and was eventually granted a pardon. He operated as a publican from 1829. Levy named his new pub the American Hotel, and it served American whaling ships that called in at Sydney. A boarding house for sailors operated upstairs, and when gold was discovered in NSW in the 1850s, sailors who jumped ship- lured by the promise of gold- were sometimes concealed here until their ships had sailed. Chinese merchants Tin War & Co conducted trade with Asia from offices and warehouse here from 1876-1898.